But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope:
The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

~Lamentations 3:21-23

This coming week marks the beginning of yet another Online Bible Study and I am quite excited about the coming study: Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst.  This study comes just weeks before my fourth child is due to arrive in this world.  And, if prior experience is any indicator, I will once again fight to regain control over unhealthy eating habits.  Fatigue and stress surrounding adding another member to our family often leads me to make easy choices instead of good choices.  I am hoping that my examination of past mistakes will make my battle with food a bit easier this time around.  As I, and more than 35,000 other women embark on this study, we were asked to consider our testimony (how and when we met Jesus, how knowing Jesus has impacted my life, etc.), and I jumped at the opportunity.  God’s role in my life has been a nearly constant thought in the past weeks as I have faced some physically and mentally exhausting situations.  What I have begun to realize, is that the God I know and love is the God of change.  Each major turning point has highlighted different traits I needed to modify and His strength and grace in me to accomplish the task.

I have always been a Christian, although admittedly it has taken me a great amount of time to mature as a Christian.  Jesus has been a part of my life as long as I can remember.  This gave me a strong start to a life where God had much for me to learn about his true nature.  Even as an older teenager, when my choices and actions did not always show I was a Christian, a necessary thought process for a major transformation was beginning.  I had an awful self-image and belief in who I was in Christ, but I honestly think I had to struggle with myself a bit before I would recognize my need for God and his definition.

As a married adult, a slow transformation began to occur as my husband and I began our journey together.  I faced challenges, both physical and emotional, that my husband and I were only able to face with God’s truth at our side.  The biggest transformation (and the most difficult): motherhood.  Each child added to our family has added immeasurable joy, but also heartache, doubt, fear, sadness, and dozens of other emotions I never dreamed would hit me so forcefully.  Each child brought a change in our family dynamic and my outlook on life.  Each child has begun to make me a better person.  I anticipate more change (and challenges) to come with another child.  I also, however, anticipate less time for me to turn back to God when fatigue and stress cause me to slip away.  I anticipate grace and encouragement in the face of the seeming unending sleepless nights.  I anticipate the God of Change being right there with me, allowing me to experience more of the joy of raising children and less of the frustration.

My testimony is an ongoing one.  There is no one AHA moment for me, but rather a series of events that have led me to encounter God in a way I thought only “spiritual superstars” do.  Over the coming weeks, I will be further illuminating some of the struggles that have caused me to falter in the past and how God was there with me through it all.  I hope that you will join me and be encouraged by my story, as I know I am encouraged by so many of you.  If you would like to join in the online study, click here to sign up.

As I think on the nature of God, these verses from Lamentations 3:21-23 give me courage to face another day:

But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope:
The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

