But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

2 Corinthians 12:9

I sat in my bed, crying silently to myself and to God.  “Why can’t I do this?”  Why am I not smart enough to figure this out?”  I messed up, again.  It felt like my life was a series of repeated events: life is going smoothly, something unforeseen happens to divert us, I try to take complete control and end up messing something up.  It seems I will never learn. I mentally beat myself up and question my worth as a wife, mother, daughter, friend and a person.  This can quickly escalate into an identity crisis of epic proportions, which leads to me questioning everything and leaves me unable to move forward.  Have you been there too?  Has doubt crept into your mind, leaving you questioning your worth?  In recent years, I have learned to not allow the doubts that invade my mind to define my worth.  These doubts are based on temporary circumstances, and while they may tell a part of my story, they do not define who I am.

Instead of allowing doubt to overwhelm our thoughts, we need to be prepared to replace them with God’s truth and promises.  God knows we do not have what it takes to do it on our own.  This is why “he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16) God knows we cannot earn salvation of our own accord, so he sent his son to pay the ransom for our sinful nature.  This allows us to step out of the muck of doubt into the freedom of Jesus’ redemption.  Not only did Jesus die for our salvation, God sent the Holy Spirit to guide our ways.  “Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.” (Romans 8:26) What a beautiful gift.  Not only did God wipe the slate clean in regards to sin with the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, but he sent an intercessor to place the law of the Spirit in our hearts to guide us and give us strength.

God did not want us to live in constant doubt of ourselves.  God knows our weaknesses and works within us with his strength to show his glory.  In 2 Corinthians 12:9, Paul tells us But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”  Paul does not say that God makes us powerful or perfect when we believe.  Rather, Paul shares that God shows His power through our weaknesses so that God’s glory may be revealed through us, not only to others, but continually to each of us as believers.

This gives us an amazing promise.  We no longer have to worry about who we are in our weaknesses.  We do not have to let them define us or determine our future.  No, God has promised us an identity in Christ.  We are loved, cared for, significant, secure in the present and the future, and the list could go on.  The Bible is filled with promises from God as to our identity.  As sons and daughters born of God, we have an extraordinary inheritance.  We only have to take hold of the truth and allow it to be poured into our hearts.  Only then can we overcome fear and doubt. For they will always be there, waiting to try to overcome us.  As 1 Peter 5:8-9 tells us, “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.” God is telling us to be alert to the attacks from the enemy.  Do not allow yourself to be of unclear mind.  Do not feel alone in your resistance, for many in the family of believers (both past and present) have suffered similarly.

As I read through God’s Word, I discover who I am as a child of God.  It paints a picture of a woman who is accepted (or adopted) as a child of God, friend of Christ, and a member of Christ’s body.  I am secure in all of the promises that come with being a child of God.  I am significant.  My life and purpose matters to God and is uniquely made for me to serve him.

Iam-240x300

Created by Ginny Blankenship with chart from
Renee Swope’s A Confident Heart, pp. 107-108.

If you hear doubt and fear whispering you are not good enough, turn to God’s Word to refute these lies.  As Jesus demonstrated when he was tested in the wilderness, God’s Word is a powerful weapon against temptation and lies.  Each time you feel your thoughts turning to doubt and fear, turn to some of the verses listed above, or use any of the numerous resources that help you find your true identity in Christ Jesus.  God’s Word becomes a trusted friend, encouraging you and giving you strength to carry on. Will you join me in replacing our doubt with the truth of who we are through Christ?

Thy Word

