Then, leaving her water jar, the woman went back to the town and said to the people,“Come, see a man who told me everything I ever did. Could this be the Messiah?”

John 4:28-29

Blogging has been a particularly difficult task of late.  To keep from boring you with details, sleep has been hard found over the past couple months, which means so have well put together thoughts.  Fatigue also brings about other not-so-nice qualities, namely frustration and impatience.  Raising children is hard to begin with; throw in endless sleep deprived nights, it seems downright impossible.  There are many days when I feel worthless as a mother and a wife because of a mental breakdown.  There are times when I look up to God and ask why and how.  I am sure many of you have been there, whether with children or another difficult trial or task.  John Chapter 4 gives us a picture of a Samaritan woman who likely struggled with feeling worthless.  The story tells us this woman at the well had five husbands and was now living with a man who was not her husband.  Those around her must have been talking feverishly about this woman’s situation and her shame was evident given the circumstances under which she met Jesus at the well.  However, Jesus purposely met this woman at the well.  He would speak truth into her life, which in turn this woman would share with those around her.

The women at the well had returned each day to gather water at the hottest part of the day to avoid the stares and the hushed conversations.  Meeting Jesus that day introduced this young woman to water that will fill her thirst for eternity.  When this woman realized the promises Jesus was making, she ran, ‘leaving her water jar, the woman went back to the town and said to the people,“Come, see a man who told me everything I ever did. Could this be the Messiah?”’  She saw that Jesus offered to be her savior despite everything she ever did.  God also makes that same promise to us.  Our source of living water wants us to turn to Him, no matter how many times or how bad we have screwed up.  He wants us to turn to Him for redemption, so that we might use his strength to overcome the difficulties before us.

Will my children let me sleep in the coming weeks?  That question is still open.  However, I do know that I can control my reactions, even through fatigue.  In my quiet times, God speaks to my heart about the truth of the situation.  I can find peace in the midst of frustration and a bit more patience in the midst of chaos.  I pray that in the coming weeks, even if things seems overwhelming, that we look to our source of living water for rejuvenation and strength.  God’s promises to us are true.  He sent a Messiah for us.  Our works do not earn it, only our belief.  Praise God for such an amazing gift!

