“We have different gifts according to the grace given each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give enormously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.”

Romans 12: 6-8

Occasionally, I write notes or letters to myself or my children.  Often times, it contains some lesson from a struggle we have endured through the day.  Recently, as I was walking, I got a thought of how to encourage a young person I frequently have contact with, but I began to realize the far-reaching applicability it would have to my children, myself, my family and friends, and possibly even you.  That evening, I wrote a letter like I sometimes do, focusing on the truth shared in Romans 12: 6-8. While one could write an entire book on these few verses, I would like to focus on two main themes that appear in this passage.

The first is the different gifts given to each of us according to His grace.  This implies that God thinks of each of us uniquely and equips us each differently according to the trials and adventures we will face in life.  God thought of YOU when He gave these gifts.  This was not a bunch of things thrown together randomly, but a thoughtful combination given especially to you.

The second theme is the wide variety of gifts God has given us.  This list is by no means exhaustive.  The point is, figure out your gifts and use them to their fullest!  Use your gifts in your everyday life and in the special ways that present themselves over time.  Every person has gifts, no matter how untalented you may feel, and I hope this passage gives you a glimpse into those gifts.

The following is the letter and prayer I wrote that evening after pondering these verses.

Dear Child of God,

You are unique. Your life will be filled with unique trials and joys.  God has blessed and entrusted you with a special set of talents. Use them. When life feels overwhelming or as if everything is going against you, remember this: God created you for those specific circumstances and equipped you to overcome them through His strength. He will use this for His glory, and if you allow Him, God will shape you into a being after His own heart.

With Love,

A Sister in Christ

Dear God,

We praise you for your love, mercy and attention to each of us. We pray that we will use our talents for your glory so that you might sing with joy.

Amen

*A short side note: This was intended to be a short and sweet explanation of these verses to a child or person you have only a short time with.  Much more could be said, but for the sake of brevity was not.

I pray that in the coming week, when you face moments that threaten to make you come unglued, you remember this passage. I know that it helps me remember to have a little grace with my children, a little more with myself, and remember that part of my gift is serving my family.  I look to do that joyfully so that those around me may feel the love and grace of God the Father.  While I often fall short, I know that God is working in me to continually make me closer to the being He intended.  I want to serve God fully, my entire life and beyond.  May this bring you hope and encouragement in an ordinary or not-so-ordinary week.

