I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
even at night my heart instructs me.
I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

~Psalm 16:7-8

I love summer.  Because of my husband’s work, he has much greater flexibility during the summer, so we get to spend time traveling to see family, doing fun little family activities and much more.  We are a blessed family.  However, something is still missing. It is not what you may be thinking.  I miss the “routine” of the school year.  I miss my time with dedicated activities and defined time with God.  I have an extremely hard time just picking up the Bible in the midst of busy travels or a crazy day with the kids.  I did much better this summer, but I still found myself slipping into old habits and feeling disconnected.

This week, I began the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study of What Happens When Women Say Yes to God by Lysa TerKeurst.  I was overjoyed, to put it mildly, because now I have sense of accountability.  More than that, even Chapter 1 had so many things that spoke to me.  Perhaps the most timely came when she says:

You see, we have become so familiar with God, yet so unaware of Him. We make the mysterious mundane. We construct careful reasons for our rules and sensible whys for our behavior. All the while our soul is long for a richer experience–one that allows us to escape the limits of sight, sound, touch, taste, and smell and journey to a place of wild, wonder, and passion.

This spoke directly to my summer habits.  I know God is there and I even acknowledged Him from time to time.  I went back to relying only on my own strength, despite the fact I know I will fall short.  I will be disappointed.  I miss all the amazing ways God works in and through my life.  My soul does long for God’s strength and power beyond my own.  I want to see Him.  I want to feel Him.  I want to hear Him.  I want the peace that comes with me living out His plan for me.

What do I do about it?  I do not want to keep following the same pattern, year in, year out.  How do I avoid letting my soul get out of line for long periods of time?  This is actually something I have learned from past experience.  I need to move beyond my current routine.  I have made amazing strides over the past several years in my relationship with God, and I find great joy in that!  However, when I stay in the same pattern, long after it has developed further growth, it leads to disconnect and frustration.

So, here I am, at the beginning yet again.  Looking to God to find concrete ways I can grow closer to Him once again.  I am sure I will be getting out of my comfort zone as God asks me to be His body.  However, I plan to be ready to take that step, instead of giving countless reasons why I cannot.  His Word will be my guide, more than it ever has before.  I will continue to seek the godly counsel of those around me.  Beginnings are always exciting, but also scary.  I do not know where this is going to lead me.

While beginnings always seem difficult, I look forward to growth, even though it may also come with hardship.  It has been my experience it is worth it.  Even in the midst of craziness and overwhelming situations, it helps me have a change of perspective to bring me more joy and peace, even if the hurt is still there.

I pray that we can experience God each day, drawing closer to Him and experience all the amazing things he has intended for us. I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. (Psalms 16:7-8)” God has shown us again and again He is with us, instructing us.  We should praise Him and keep our eyes on Him always.  There does not seem to be anything better than the promise of the Creator being with us always. I hope you feel the power of the promises God has made to you.  May it bring you peace today and always.

