“For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body. So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority.”
Colossians 2:9-10

The question was posed this week through Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Study of Stressed-Less Living as to how we stay plugged into God.  This question actually caused me to stop and take inventory of whether I actually believed I was plugged into God.  I sometimes suffer from self-doubt and self-degradation.  I recently had a friend comment that she thought I was so together and organized and doing a great job raising my children in a Christian home.  I sort of laughed and went through my list of faults in my head.  For once, I did not air this list to show “the truth” as I saw it.  Instead, I used how God is working in me, to encourage this friend.  My response to her went something like this: “My life is far from perfect.  My children can drive me crazy at times, I have disagreements with my husband, my reactions to situations are short-tempered.  However, God has worked on me through MY life, which He gave Me.  I am no spiritual super-hero.  I am however, a child of God, and I work to be the best child I can.  I work each day towards improving my relationship with God and as a consequence, there is more peace in my life.  This does not mean less trial and conflict, only peace through the situation.”

This conversation went through my mind as I wondered whether I was “plugged into” Christ.  I can, with all honesty, say yes I am!  Do I drift and settle into the ordinary?  Yes, but each time I learn a bit more about myself and how to strengthen my relationship with the Father.  The question remains, however, as to HOW I stay plugged in.  The biggest way, through this very blog!

I really get to grapple with the struggles in my life.  I get to account for my blessings.  I get to think about and apply Scripture.  I have to rely on God to give me words that might speak to the heart of another.  I get to tangibly use my trials to encourage others.  It combines reading of Scripture, prayer, quiet and thoughtfulness into one.  I also like the accountability of putting it out there for others to see.  I cannot just put half-thoughts or short responses.  I really have to think through each post and try to put together a post that is meaningful and well-written.

You may be reading this and think you could never write a blog.  Perhaps that is not what you are meant to do, but I will tell you this, putting your thoughts into a journal is a meaningful way to begin to more clearly hear God’s voice in your life.  Reading scripture, praying for God’s direction and organizing your thoughts regarding trials and blessings in your life is a great way to strengthen your faith.

You may also be thinking you are not spiritually capable of thinking on such a level.  This is where I want to encourage you.  Colossians 2:9-10 tells us, “For in Christ lives all the fullness of God in a human body. So you also are complete through your union with Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority.” Through Christ, you are complete!  Christ, who is the head over every ruler and authority, makes us complete.  God is not asking you to be me, the spiritual power house at church, or anyone else for that matter.  He gave you this life for a reason.  Sometimes we may not understand the reason, but nothing is wasted with God.  Use what you have for serving God.  EVERY person has a gift.  Do not allow the darkness in your life to make you believe otherwise.  It is time to see yourself in a different way.  Your ministry and gifts are there waiting for you to use them.

Are you struggling trying to figure out how to start?  Perhaps start on your knees, calling out to God.  Listen.  Rest and rejuvenate your spirit.  Keep reminding yourself of the promises God has given you.  Read your Bible and see the promises of others fulfilled.  Be sure to see how God worked through them, despite their sins and seeming inadequacies.

One of my favorite old hymns is To God be the Glory.  I think the refrain is a fitting praise as we thank God for all the gifts he has bestowed on us, including the greatest gift of eternal life through His Son!

“Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, let the earth hear his voice! Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, let the people rejoice! O come to the Father thru Jesus the Son, and give him the glory, great things he hath done!”

