“I answered, “Sir, you know.” And he said, “These are they who have come out of the great tribulation; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.”
Revelation 7:14

As I was reading through the blog hop topics this week, one of them brought to mind a song we sang in church when I was younger. It is called There is Power in the Blood.

I especially like the last verse of the song:

“Would you do service for Jesus your King?
There’s pow’r in the blood, pow’r in the blood;
Would you live daily His praises to sing?
There’s wonderful pow’r in the blood.”

This has been where I have experienced the power of the blood of Christ; to not only forgive me of my sins, but use me in service to Him.  Over the first few years of my oldest son’s life, I found myself wondering what I was supposed to be doing.  I felt lost, like I was supposed to be doing something more.  Do not get me wrong, I love being mother to my children, wife to my husband and everything that comes with it, but I felt lost.  I fumbled around trying different things, but most of them simply brought me stress and frustration.  The breaking point hit me when my middle son was about a year old.  I was crying out to God to help me.  I felt like I was at my breaking point because of circumstances in my life, and it was then I began to feel God breathing new life into me.

This has been a long process with many people and resources being a part of it, but I slowly began to realize it wasn’t that I was supposed to be doing something new, I was supposed to be doing my current responsibilities better.  I was not a bad or neglectful mother, but I was blaming others for not doing things for my family.  I was not using my gifts to uplift those around me.  I was not sharing God’s love in a meaningful way in my life.

There have been so many small ways I have shown God’s love that He has used to bless others in a big way.  God has even blessed me enough to allow me to see some of these circumstances.  To me, each action seemed natural, not any particular burden.  To the person I showed God’s love, it has sometimes given them the power to go on another day.  It has given them courage to pursue their dreams.  It has taught my children and other children the Truth of God’s Word.  It reminded the other person they are not alone; they are loved by a God that is bigger than their current circumstances.

I truly believe that God expects us to get down in the trenches with others.  This will mean something different to each person.  For some, it will mean caring for an ailing family member.  For others, it may mean holding another person accountable for destructive actions, but then sticking with them through the difficult trek back.  Others still may simply inquire after a person you know is going through a difficult time and following up so they know they are not alone.  Maybe you are a shoulder to cry on, a phone call or note to share your love, a loving action such as preparing a meal or offering to help in some other way.  I could not list all the ways we can show love to each other on a daily basis.

In church this past Sunday, the pastor of our church preached on John 13:34-35: 34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”  My pastor said something that stuck with me this week and has been affirmed to me throughout this week.  This is not just a commandment to feed, clothe and help the needy.  This is not just a call for general kindness and decency towards all.  These are important, but there is another aspect that sometimes gets overlooked.  Christ knew that once He left this earth, there would be struggle, anguish and fear left in His absence.  He knew His disciples would need the love to uplift them, ease their worry and fear.  Jesus also knew that outsiders would see how we, as Christians, act towards each other, and this would impact their view of God.  If we do not show love to each other, why would anyone want to be in communion with us?

God has called Christians to not conform to the ways of this world (Romans 12:2) and is preparing us for a life in heaven.  This is not always easy.  There are many times where it is simply difficult.  We are the body of Christ(1 Corinthians 12:27), and if we do not seek to “treat” the ailing members, we are destined for ill health and hardship, the same as if we neglect our own bodies.  I plead with you today to be aware of those around you.  Look for hurting, fear, worry, illness, confusion, dismay and any other signs of an ailing heart.  Perhaps it is just a kind word to a frazzled mother or pointing out a strength the person may not recognize in himself.  I do not know the specifics of what God is asking you to do, but I know God is calling you to show His love.

Are you struggling to figure out how?  I was too, but there is “power, power, wonder working power, in the blood of the lamb!”  Call out to God and listen to what He has to say.  It may come to you while studying His Word, through a conversation with a friend, or any other number of ways.  He will reveal it.

One day God will say of us, “These are they who have come out of the great tribulation; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb. (Revelation 7:14)” Never forget, “there is power, power, wonder working power, in the precious blood of the lamb.”  He was won the victory over death and has the power to save even the most lost of His lambs.

