“I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand,
I will not be shaken.”
Psalm 16:8

This week marks the beginning of a new Online Bible Study with Melissa Taylor.  We are studying Stressed-Less Living by Tracie Miles and this could not be a more fitting book for me.  I have been quite intentional in trying to simplify my life over the past several years and to develop ways to deal with stress when it does creep in.  However, I often find myself succumbing to the frustration and anger that accompanies stressful situations.

The truth is, when I allow myself to be stressed, it is evidence that my life is out of balance.  The past few weeks have felt very stressful.  There hasn’t been enough time, enough sleep, too much whining and complaining from my children, too much sickness, sadness, and the list goes on.  I have found myself feeling overwhelmed, losing my temper, unable to focus and tired.  I know that when my life is in balance, nearly all of the things that have caused me to be stressed over the past few weeks would hardly be a blip on my radar.

What do I hope to gain from this study?  Perspective.  I know that when my life is balanced and focused on God first, the other problems do not seem so big.  When the big things happen, I am able to deal with them effectively and not be drug into a pit of darkness.  The verse Tracie Miles places at the beginning of the book sums it up for me: “…you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed…” (Luke 10:4b-42a).  One thing.  I can do one thing.

When life seems overwhelming, out of control, desperate or full of despair, there is only one thing you need.  That is liberating and full of peace.  My time with the One has been lacking as of late, so no wonder life has felt out of control.  This study is one way to help me regain focus, but more importantly, help me to keep my balance and focus.  I want to think more like Psalm 16:8, “I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”

I look forward to diving into the causes and effects of stress on our lives and looking for the One solution that offers peace and hope to us all.

 

