Tags

I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in Me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.  
~ John 14:12

I have to admit the idea of me doing greater things sometimes seems laughable.  I am just an ordinary woman.  I am a wife to my husband and mother to my children.  I am a sister, a daughter, a friend.  I think I do pretty well, but nothing spectacular.  So how does this verse claim I will do even greater things?

The answer lies in the truth Jesus is sharing with us in this verse: “anyone who has faith in Me will do what I have been doing.”  There are several important things to note.  First, it is for anyone, not only for high powered executives, preachers, powerful leaders, or those who seem to have everything together.  Greater things are promised to anyone!  This is affirmed throughout the Bible, including John 1:12, where it says: “Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.”  Jesus did not say only Jews or religious leaders.  His promise is for all, but there is more to the promise; our part of the promise.

The verse says it is for “anyone who has faith in Me.” (Emphasis mine.)  This is the biggest part of the truth for me.  We have a part in this promise of greater things.  We must have faith in Jesus!  If we do not have faith, we do not have the power of God within us.  On my own, I try to excel at all the things of the world, which means I will always fail.  The world is a place where the definition of great constantly changes.  We are warned of the danger of relying on our own works and the things of this world throughout the Bible.  In Jeremiah 48:7 it says, “For because you have trusted in your works and your treasures, you also shall be taken.” There is no mention that you might be able to squeak by or you might get lucky and succeed.  It simply says you will be taken.  That does not sound like the way I want to live my life.

Faith, however, is not simply saying you believe in God.  In James’ forward way, he reminds us in James 2:19, “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that–and shudder.”  There is more to faith than belief.  This leads us to the next part of the truth Jesus shares with us, if we have faith, the believer “will do what [Jesus was] doing”  If we have faith, we will be following the example Jesus set out for us while he was on earth.  A wise mentor of mine once told me “in the Bible, belief is an action word.”  It requires us to listen, follow, serve, love, and much more.  This is a tall order, but as with anything, start small.  I have been faithfully working on my “personal ministry”; my joy in being a woman, wife, mother, sister, daughter and friend. I am going to follow the command in Ephesians 6:7: “Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.”

My next step is one I hope many will join me on, love through generosity.  God commands us to love our neighbor.  Many of our neighbors throughout the world are in need.  Some are hungry or without a home.  Some struggle with emotional or physical illness.  All struggle somehow and each of us as Christians have a unique gift to share.  Some are blessed with abundant financial resources.  Others have time.  All have the ability to be friendly: smile, send a card to someone, write a note, and affirm those around you.

Perhaps, as I reflect on my “ordinary” life, I should remember what 1 Corinthians 1:26-29 says:

Brothers, think of what you were when you were called. Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential; not many were of noble birth. [27] But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong. [28] He chose the lowly things of this world and the despised things — and the things that are not — to nullify the things that are, [29] so that no one may boast before him.

Will you join me in faith, doing the things Jesus did, so that we may do greater things?  Please leave me a comment below so I can pray for you as you pursue a greater life.

 

